The Third Option: ThinkSystem V4 Against PowerEdge 17G and ProLiant Gen12
Written and maintained by Haink's infrastructure team · Verified against Lenovo Press, Dell and HPE product documentation, 29 August 2026 · we supply all three
Most enterprise server shortlists contain two names, and they were chosen years ago. Dell and HPE are the incumbents in almost every procurement template we see, and for a large number of estates that is still the correct answer. But the shortlist is rarely re-examined, and the current generation is a reasonable moment to do it — because all three vendors moved to Intel Xeon 6 within months of each other, which makes this the cleanest like-for-like comparison available in years.
This page covers the current generation, three ways. If Lenovo is already off your list and the decision is between the incumbents, our Dell PowerEdge against HPE ProLiant comparison goes deeper on that pair.
The model map
Start here, because half the confusion in three-way tenders comes from comparing a 1U against a 2U without noticing:
| Role | Lenovo | Dell | HPE |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1U dual-socket, dense compute | ThinkSystem SR630 V4 | PowerEdge R670 | ProLiant Compute DL360 Gen12 |
| 2U dual-socket, mainstream | ThinkSystem SR650 V4 | PowerEdge R770 | ProLiant Compute DL380 Gen12 |
| Generation label | V4 | 17th Generation (17G) | Gen12 |
| Management controller | XClarity Controller | iDRAC | iLO 7 |
One caution specific to Lenovo: the V-number is a platform label, not a vintage. The AMD-based ThinkSystem platforms still carry a V3 label while running current 5th Gen EPYC silicon, which means a "V3" quote is not automatically a previous-generation quote. We unpack that in ThinkSystem V3 vs V4.
The 2U mainstream node, compared
| Lenovo SR650 V4 | Dell PowerEdge R770 | HPE DL380 Gen12 | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Processors | Xeon 6, 6500P / 6700P | Two Xeon 6 | Two Xeon 6 |
| Max cores per socket | 86 P-cores, 172 threads | 144 E-cores or 86 P-cores | Up to 144 cores across two sockets stated as the platform maximum |
| DIMM slots | 32 (16 with Neptune Core liquid) | 32 | Not stated in the datasheet summary |
| Max memory | 8 TB | 8 TB | 8 TB |
| Memory speed | 6400 MT/s, MRDIMM to 8000 | Up to 6400 MT/s | Up to 6400 MT/s |
| E3.S NVMe bays | Up to 32 | Up to 40 | Up to 36 |
| NVMe topology | 36 onboard ports; 32 drives with no PCIe lane oversubscription | Not stated | Not stated |
| PCIe slots | 10 rear, PCIe 5.0 | Up to 8, Gen5 | Not stated in the datasheet summary |
| OCP | Two dedicated OCP 3.0 slots, up to 400 GbE | Optional OCP 3.0 | Available |
| Liquid cooling | Neptune Core, claimed up to 35.9% DC-level saving | Available | Direct liquid cooling option |
| Security | XClarity Controller | iDRAC with Redfish | iLO 7 with Silicon Root of Trust |
Figures from each vendor's own current documentation, verified 29 August 2026. "Not stated" means the published summary does not give a comparable figure — ask for it in writing rather than assuming parity.
Where they actually differ
On memory ceiling, memory speed and processor family these three are effectively the same machine. The differences that change a decision are narrower and less discussed.
1. E-cores are on the menu at Dell and HPE, and they are a licensing decision
Dell states the R770 at up to 144 E-cores or 86 P-cores per processor. HPE quotes up to 144 cores on the DL380 Gen12. Lenovo's SR650 V4 product guide documents the 6500P and 6700P P-core parts at up to 86 cores, though the SR630 V4 is documented as taking both P-core and E-core Xeon 6.
Before treating a higher core ceiling as an advantage, work out what it costs annually. Every major virtualization stack now meters on physical cores — VMware with a 16-core minimum per processor, Nutanix per core, Azure Local as a per-core monthly host fee. A 144-core E-core part is superb for scale-out workloads that are not core-licensed, and a recurring liability for a licensed virtualization estate. This is the single most common way a "better spec" turns into a worse three-year number, and we work the arithmetic through in the hardware decision behind per-core licensing.
2. Expansion, where Lenovo is genuinely ahead on paper
Ten rear PCIe 5.0 slots plus two dedicated OCP 3.0 slots on the SR650 V4, against up to eight PCIe Gen5 slots plus an optional OCP on the R770. If the node carries storage networking, a separate management fabric and accelerators at the same time, that difference is real and it is the kind of thing that only surfaces during detailed design — by which point the vendor is chosen.
3. Drive bays are not the same as drive bandwidth
Dell publishes the highest E3.S count at up to 40, HPE 36, Lenovo 32. On raw bays Dell wins. But Lenovo publishes something the other two do not: 36 onboard NVMe ports and 32 NVMe drives without oversubscribing PCIe lanes. Bay count tells you how many drives fit; lane topology tells you whether they all perform at once. On a storage-dense host these are different questions, and the second one is the one that shows up in production. Ask all three vendors for the lane map behind the bay count, in writing.
4. The management licence nobody puts in the quote
All three ship a baseboard management controller — XClarity Controller, iDRAC, iLO 7 — and on all three, the capabilities most people assume are included sit behind a licence tier. Remote graphical console, virtual media, deeper telemetry and the automation hooks your provisioning depends on are typically tier-gated: iDRAC runs Basic through Enterprise and Datacenter, iLO runs Standard through Advanced, XClarity Controller runs Standard and Premier. On the Lenovo side the split is documented precisely — remote KVM and virtual media are Premier, not Standard, and the fleet management platform is a second licence again: see XClarity licensing.
The failure mode is predictable. Three vendors compete on price, one of them quotes the base tier, that quote wins, and the licence appears afterwards as a change order — per node, for the life of the platform. On forty nodes it is not a rounding error. The fix is one line in the RFP: state the management controller licence tier included, per node, and the cost of the tier above it.
Support entitlement is a country question, not a brand question
Dell ProSupport, HPE Pointnext Tech Care and Lenovo Premier Support all read similarly in the brochure — we break the Lenovo side down tier by tier in warranty against Premier Support. They do not perform identically everywhere, and the gap is widest in exactly the markets where our customers operate.
What matters is not the service name but the entitlement at the installation address: whether next-business-day on-site actually exists in that country, where the parts depot is, whether there is a local engineer or one flying in, and what happens to the response clock across a border or a customs boundary. A four-hour response commitment that assumes a parts depot two countries away is a four-hour commitment on paper only.
Ask for the entitlement in writing, per site, before the vendor decision — not per contract, per site. Where cover is genuinely thin for every vendor, the honest answer is usually to hold spares locally rather than to buy a service level that cannot be delivered. That is a design decision, and it belongs in the hardware budget.
Where Lenovo actually wins, and where it does not
We supply all three, so there is no reason to overstate this.
Lenovo tends to win when: price-performance at a given configuration is the deciding factor and the estate is not locked to one vendor's tooling; the workload wants expansion slots more than drive bays; the requirement is high core count per socket on AMD, where the V3 platforms reach considerably further than anything in the Intel line from any vendor; or density and power are the binding constraints and the liquid-cooled option earns its place.
Lenovo tends to lose when: the estate is standardised on one vendor's management and automation and the operational cost of a second toolchain exceeds the hardware saving — a real and frequently decisive factor, not a soft one; when a specific certified configuration exists only on the incumbent; when the local partner ecosystem for the incumbent is materially stronger at your sites; or when the requirement is maximum GPU density in a single chassis, where purpose-built platforms from several vendors go further than any mainstream 2U.
And the honest general point: at this generation the three machines are close enough that the decision is usually settled by commercial terms, support reality and what your team already runs — not by the datasheet. Anyone telling you one of these platforms is decisively faster than the others at the same configuration is selling something.
What changes when you buy twenty of them
List prices are published and they are not what a project pays. Dell publishes a starting price for the R770 — £28,291.68 for a base build with two Xeon 6515P, 64 GB and a 960 GB SSD on three-year support, at UK list. Useful as an anchor, misleading as a budget: at project quantities the pricing mechanism changes entirely. Special-bid and project pricing is registered against a specific opportunity rather than applied as a percentage off list, which is why identical configurations from the same vendor can land at very different numbers depending on how the deal was structured — before it was quoted, not after.
The second thing that changes is availability. Configuration freedom and delivery date pull against each other: a build that is one component away from a stock configuration can often ship in days, while insisting on a specific SKU pushes the whole order into a factory cycle. Our current position is ThinkSystem SR630 and SR650 V3 in stock in Hong Kong and Dubai at days to a week, with V4 at two to four weeks to order, as of August 2026. The stock versus BTO/CTO trade-off is worth understanding before the specification is frozen, because on a fixed maintenance window it frequently outranks the spec comparison above.
Get all three quoted on one specification
Send this and we price it — no questions back:
- Quantity and the workload the nodes run
- Committed vCPU, memory and usable storage
- Every adapter the design needs, and the management licence tier you require
- Installation address per site — support entitlement is a country question
- Target date
You get firm pricing, availability and delivered lead time within one business day.
No specification yet? Send quantity, workload and sites. We build matched configurations across Lenovo, Dell and HPE — same cores, same memory, same storage, management tier stated — and price all three.
Frequently asked questions
Is Lenovo ThinkSystem as good as Dell PowerEdge or HPE ProLiant?
At the current generation the three are built on the same Intel Xeon 6 platform, top out at the same 8 TB of memory and run memory at the same 6400 MT/s. The meaningful differences are expansion slots, drive bay counts and lane topology, the management licence tier, and support entitlement at your specific sites. Performance at a matched configuration is not where the decision gets made.
What is the Lenovo equivalent of a Dell PowerEdge R770?
The ThinkSystem SR650 V4. In 1U, the R670 maps to the SR630 V4. The HPE equivalents are the DL380 Gen12 and DL360 Gen12 respectively.
Which of the three has the highest core count?
On Intel, Dell and HPE publish up to 144 E-cores where Lenovo's SR650 V4 guide documents 86 P-cores. On AMD, Lenovo's V3 platforms carry 5th Gen EPYC — the SR665 V3 supports up to 160 cores per socket, higher than anything in the Intel line from any of the three. Whether a high core count is an advantage depends entirely on whether your stack licenses per core.
Does a higher core count save money?
Not automatically. VMware, Nutanix and Azure Local all meter per physical core, so every additional core carries a recurring licence for the life of the platform. VMware's 16-core-per-CPU minimum also means low-core parts give no saving. The right choice is a band in the middle, and the calculation should be done over the full term before the processor model is fixed.
Do all three include remote management, or is it licensed?
All three include a management controller, and on all three the features most teams rely on — remote graphical console, virtual media, deeper telemetry and automation hooks — sit behind a licence tier. Require every bidder to state the tier included per node and the cost of the tier above it, or the cheapest quote will simply be the one that quoted the base tier.
Which vendor has the best support in emerging markets?
The answer is per country and per site, not per brand. Ask each vendor for the entitlement at the actual installation address: whether the response commitment is genuinely available there, where the parts depot sits, and whether a border crossing is involved. Where cover is thin for all three, holding local spares is usually better value than buying a service level that cannot physically be delivered.
Should we standardise on one vendor or mix?
Mixing carries a real operational cost: two management toolchains, two firmware matrices, two support relationships and two upgrade calendars. That cost is frequently larger than the hardware saving that motivated the mix. Mixing makes sense when a specific workload is genuinely better served elsewhere, or when supply risk in your region argues for a second source — not simply because a quote came in lower.
Related
- Dell PowerEdge vs HPE ProLiant — the two-way comparison, in more depth on that pair
- ThinkSystem V3 vs V4 — why a V3 quote is not automatically a previous-generation quote
- Lenovo XClarity licensing — exactly which management features are behind the tier, on one of the three
- SR650 V3 vs SR665 V3 — the Intel-or-AMD question inside one vendor
- How to choose Lenovo ThinkSystem servers · Dell PowerEdge selection · HPE ProLiant selection
- VMware exit — the hardware decision — how per-core licensing reshapes the node you should buy
- Which ThinkAgile series for which hypervisor — if the shortlist is hyperconverged rather than rack servers
- Buying 20–60 servers as one project — how to run the tender so the three quotes are actually comparable
- Special bid and project pricing · stock vs BTO/CTO · Lenovo stock and lead times
- Sovereign cloud infrastructure — 40 nodes, 7,680 vCPUs, 96 TB NVMe, national data residency
Sources
- Lenovo Press — ThinkSystem SR650 V4 product guide (86 cores, 8 TB, MRDIMM 8000 MHz, 32× E3.S, 36 onboard NVMe ports, 10 rear PCIe slots, two OCP 3.0 slots, Neptune Core)
- Lenovo Press — ThinkSystem SR630 V4 product guide
- Dell — PowerEdge R770 (144 E-cores or 86 P-cores per processor, 32 DIMM slots, 8 TB, up to 40 E3.S Gen5 NVMe, up to eight PCIe Gen5 slots, published starting price)
- HPE — ProLiant Compute DL380 Gen12 (Xeon 6, up to 144 cores, 8 TB DDR5 at 6400 MT/s, up to 36 E3.S NVMe, iLO 7 with Silicon Root of Trust, DLC option)
- Lenovo Press — ThinkSystem servers with 5th Gen AMD EPYC (up to 192 cores on the V3 AMD platforms)
- VMware licensing changes (per-core subscription, 16-core minimum per CPU)
